Peabody Museum Indigenous Australia Curatorial Fellowships

The Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology, Harvard University, is accepting proposals for, short-term curatorial fellowships for scholars of Indigenous Australian archaeology and Ethnology to work on collections in the care of the Peabody Museum.  Proposals may request funding for a single or for multiple research trips over a period of up to 3 years. Maximum award is $45,000.

The Peabody has a collection of Australian ethnographic material that is one of the most extensive outside Australia and includes materials collected as early as the colonial era and that is inadequately documented and studied. There are almost 2,000 items in the Museum’s ethnographic collections. Most were collected during the 1920s and 1930s from Northern Territory (~ 35%), Western Australia (~35%), and South Australia and Tasmania (~ 30%). In addition to weapons and ceremonial objects, the collection includes men’s, women’s, and children’s items. Interested scholars may consult the fact sheet and the Peabody’s online collections database for additional information.

The goal of the Peabody Museum is to improve collections documentation and will require that applicants provide the Museum with abstracts for each object studied, identifying and describing its historic, research, and heritage values and any known connections to other collections or documentation. The results of each Fellow’s work will become part the Peabody Museum’s collections database and publicly available to all researchers. Applicants are welcome to focus their work on a specific culture, geographic location, or object type in accordance with their own research interests. Fellows may use the results of their research in accordance with the Peabody’s usual research permission policies. The Peabody Museum will provide research space, collections and curatorial support, and access to its archives and acquisitions files in accordance with copyright and donor guidelines

Budget: The Fellowship supports travel, food, lodging for travel to the Peabody Museum or consultation with other collections or experts, research assistants, materials, scholarly resource access (Books, database access, other), other direct expenses as approved. The Harvard International Office estimates that a single scholar coming to Harvard for a calendar year should have at least approximately $30,000 available for living expenses with an additional $5,000 more per year per accompanying person. More information about these guidelines and about living and working in the Cambridge area may be found at their website.

Applicants must hold a Ph.D. or equivalent curatorial experience with a demonstrable expertise in Australian Indigenous ethnography and material culture. Preference will be given to applications focusing on Western Australia. Applications should include:

  1. Letter of application (maximum of 3 pages) including how the candidate’s research, interests, and experience articulate with the Peabody Museum collections.
  2. Curriculum vitae
  3. Proposed timeline
  4. Budget
  5. Names of three to five references whom we may contact after determining the short-list of candidates.

Applications will be considered on the following dates: Deadlines have Passed

Email applications to: Christina Hodge, Australia Fellowship Coordinator at

Proclamation board, Governor Arthur's Proclamation to the Tasmanian people, 1830, Tasmania. Gift of Col. Theodore Lyman, 1872. PM 72-21-70/6500.

Fact Sheets